Essence of Tipitaka


29 in stock

Weight0.294 kg
Dimensions14 × 21.4 cm




Published Year


Product Type





The priceless teachings of the Buddha are preserved in Tipitaka, an extensive, detailed, systematic and analytical record. The Tipiṭaka (which means, literally, ‘three baskets’) is arranged in three divisions: Vinaya Piṭaka, Sutta Piṭaka and Abhidhamma Piṭaka. Vinaya Piṭaka contains the rules of conduct for the monastic order. Sutta Piṭaka is a collection of discourses on various subjects by the Buddha. Abhidhamma Piṭaka is a compendium of profound teachings elucidating the functioning and inter-relationships of the mind, mental factors, matter and phenomena transcending all of these. The Tipiṭaka is a vast record, containing in modern script, more than 24 million characters in over forty printed volumes.

Written by U Ko Lay, a student of Sayagyi U Ba Khin and a former Vice Chancellor of Mandalay University, this book is a concise guide to the voluminous teachings of the Buddha. It gives an overview of the entire Tipitaka as well as a taste of the Buddha’s teaching by focusing on a few of his most important discourses.

This book is ideal for Vipassana meditators as well as non-meditators.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Essence of Tipitaka”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.